Weekly Wrap Up Week 12: And We’re Done!

In the words of Bugs Bunny, That’s all Folks!
Yep, that’s right, the semester has come to an end, and with that, my Weekly Wrap Up blogs will be too. I’ve learnt a lot this semester, with two very interesting subjects that have helped my figure out my passion for user experience. I’m very lucky that I’ve had such supportive teachers, and I can honestly say that what I’ve learnt this semester will help me in my future.

By far the most i’ve learnt (and been interested in) comes from Designing for the Web. Not only did i enhance my HTML and CSS skills (which i had learnt in preparation for this subject), I also learnt how to create an effective report for information architecture, as well as how to research  information architecture and the user’s experience of a website. I also had to create a website, for a client in a group, strengthening my teamwork skills. I also had to use my leadership skills as I was the Project Manager of the assignment. (If you want to hear more about this assignment, click here). Overall, it was a fantastic subject that I am lucky to have been able to take.

The other subject was Managing Digital information. As you have probably ready from my previous weekly wrap ups, I haven’t enjoyed this subject as much, but it is still undoubtedly useful in my future career – even if I don’t want to be a librarian or a curator, people will still need databases, and I am now able to create them, using industry standards, and all of the other knowledge that I gained from this subject.

Overall I’ve had a fantastic semester, and I’m looking forward to the next one. But what about the blog? Now that the semester is over, I won’t have much to write about! But don’t worry too much, now that I’m on uni break, I will have more time to write more journalistic articles, some of which will be featured on OuttaGum , as well as my summer project. What is my summer project? Well it’s something that I will use to occupy my time, and add to my portfolio. Unlike this series I will be writing as I go, rather than a weekly wrap up, thus it may be more sporadic. It will happen however, as it is something I am very passionate about and looking forward to. The first post can be found here.

Anyway, thanks for reading along, and I hope that you gained some insight onto what I learnt this semester. The weekly wrap ups will be back next semester, along with what I’ve written above, so see you in 4 months!

Leave a Reply

