Weekly Wrap Up: Week 2 – The Importance of Usability

MDI 
This week we focused on different classification systems. Last week we talked about the Dewy Decimal System, but there are so many more systems including Ranganathan (1933) who suggested one of the most simplified system, that can be extended to everything. He suggests that there are 5 main facets – Personality (who), Matter (what), Energy (why), Space (where), time (when). In relation to this, the importance of relationships in categorisations was mentioned, using the genius-speicies classification system as an example, where each category below the other acts as a subset for the next. We also had a brief look at boundary object, which are ‘documents’ that are categorised based on who is categorising them. The best way that I was able to understand this is by connecting it to my everyday life, so I had a think about what I categorise, and how I do it. And immediately I thought about tumblr. Tumblr has a massive tagging aspect to it, which I use on my blog to keep track of everything and could definitely be considered a way to categories posts. With the posts that I reblog I categorise them all with things to do with the 5 facets proposed by Ranganathan. Each of them is a subset for the other.
For example this post:
Screen Shot 2015-08-04 at 10.34.52 pm
A post that is about Jemma Simmons, a character from Marvel’s Agents of SHIELD, the tags would look like this:
  •  Marvel
    •  MCU
      • Marvel TV
        • Agents of SHIELD
          • Jemma Simmons
Looking at this, however I know that it could look a lot different, depending on someone else’s category system. They could tag it by the type of post (gif, text etc) , the media it is from (movie, tv etc.), and many other things like that. It’s definitely easier for me to relate what I am learning in this way, so I will probably continue to do that.
 During the tutorial we expanded from what we had talked about in the lecture, but focused more on the types of categories, particularly the difference between of-ness and about-ness. Basically, of-ness is what you can find without reading into the text, whereas about-ness is more about what we get from a ‘contextual analysis’, so its purpose, it’s functionality, a description of the document, as opposed to something like the dimensions or colour – something that can be figured out by just looking at it.
In the end I feel like this week will be very important in regards to my assignments as well as in relation to my Designing for the Web subject, in relation to how I sort my pages.
Web Design
Talking about Designing for the Web, today we did two seperate things in the lecture and the tutorial. This weeks lecture was all about the user. What they wanted, how they could find it, what makes a good experience for them. This I think was one of the most important lessons, as the best website is a website that users like. Websites that consider this are websites that create customer loyalty, customer trust, and encourage customers to buy products.
During the tutorial, however, we were introduced to a program called dreamweaver. This is a program for coding that allows you to view what you are making while you are coding. I’ve never actually used a program before for my coding, it’s all either been on codecacademy or just in a text file. I’m suprised that I haven’t used a program before because they are really amazing, and it makes life so much easier. I’m use to typing out every single thing in my code, but this program completely streamlines the process, you only need to type </ to end a command, and to start one, you can pretty much type the first letter, click what you want and it’s almost all written out for you.
We were doing things that were relatively easy (considering I know and have used HTML before), however I think this week was just getting use to using the program, which I think really is necessary, because now I feel confident using it to create a website.
Fortunantely we only set up for css by adding class and id, but that means we are going to be doing css next week, which I am not much of a fan of. I’ll have to brush up on it over the weekend.
Leave a Reply

