The Importance of Skye

AOS-ep-19

I am an avid marvel fan, if you can’t tell from any of my social media, or even this blog, but by far my favourite thing to come out of marvel is the TV show Agents of Shield. While it wasn’t the reason I first got into Marvel, it is by far the reason I stayed.

Much like most other series I enjoy, my favourite character is the more ‘nerdy’ one – Simmons who is the biochemist of the team, followed by the bad ass Bobbi Morse and Melinda May. And while she wasn’t my least favourite, Skye wasn’t up there in my top three.  Recently, however, I’ve been reflecting on the reason for this. And after watching a panel from this year’s comic con (which you can see here), I’ve come to the conclusion as to why. And it’s quite simple really, Skye’s narrative hits too close to home.

Throughout the two seasons, Skye’s story is about figuring out who she is – something that a lot of people can empathise with. However, it goes deeper than that. The first season Skye doesn’t really know who she is, but in the second season, she finds out rather suddenly. And she goes into complete denial. She doesn’t tell anyone, and tries to ‘fix’ it herself. She does eventually tell someone, who is then able to help her through it, and in the end accepts that she has changed and embraces it. Now that I’m writing it out, it really does seem silly to me that I didn’t realise sooner how close this story line is to my own – mostly in regards to my acknowledgement and acceptance of my queerness.

I didn’t realise that I liked ladies until I was about 16, and I would be lying if I didn’t say that I straight out denied it. I denied any possibility of not being straight, and I did so for several years. I removed it from my mind, or I cut off contact with people that made me think like that, and overall I majorly messed with my own head. Finally, after years of horrible thoughts about myself, and my personal place in the world, I accepted the idea that I might not be 100% straight. I told a few friends, but other than that I was still in the closet. But with my friends help I was finally able to accept who I was, and love myself for it. Because it’s your life, and are you really living if you don’t love yourself?

And while I’m not hiding anymore, I am still afraid. And that is why Skye is so important. There were people in her life that were not accepting of what she was, much like myself. But she was able to overcome that, and tell everyone what she had become, just as I hope to do one day. And it is because of this, not just physical, but emotional strength that Skye has is why she is such a role model to me. There aren’t many narratives in the world that I can identify with, and the fact that this is one (even though I don’t have super powers), on a show that I love is so so so important to me.

Before I sign off, I would just like to commend Chloe Bennet on her skills as Skye. The fact that she was able to perfectly show the inner turmoil that I’ve felt, and continue to give the character such growth, while still being able to show she has her own insecurities takes so much skill, and she has done it in such a beautiful way. I honestly couldn’t think of anyone else that could do as good of a job as she has done. This is a thing that many LGBT+ kids go through, and to have such a wonderful, lovely person to represent this experience is an amazing thing. So, Chloe, if you’re reading this, from the bottom of my heart, thank you.

Peggy Carter: I know my value, Anyone else’s doesn’t really matter.

*Note: Throughout this post I referred to Skye/Daisy Johnson only as Skye. While the writers have stated that they will now refer to her only as Daisy, I have chosen to use the name Skye in this post as this is currently the name that most people recognise her as.

Leave a Reply

