There’s hope for my degree yet!

I have a fantastic subject coordinator. Like actually fantastic. My course is only a small one, about thirty people in each year group (with about three year groups). She is also the subject coordinator of another subject with about the same amount of people in each year group. So in total she has about 180 people to look after. But she manages to remember all of our names, remember how we are doing, and regularly checking up on us – how we are doing with the subject, our overall university degree, any internships that we are doing, where we see our careers going in the future. She in fact was the reason I got my first internship – she said I would be a great fit, and because of that I was able to get it.

It is this relationship with my subject coordinator, as well as the tutors for this specific subject that have keep me in university. In a time that I didn’t really care much about anything, I didn’t see my degree going anywhere, these people encouraged me to keep going, and just see the year through, and I’m so grateful for that.

What a lot of people seem to forget about their teachers, especially in university is that they are on your side. They want to see you do well, they want to see you succeed. It reflects well on them. The reason you have so many assignments and exams and homework is because they want you to be ready for the real world. Not only with the content that you learn, but with the stress load that comes along with real life (spoiler alert: Real life is worse that school).

The reason I’m talking so high about my subject coordinator today is because a couple of weeks ago, she was able to organise a ’round table’ for our subject. This roundtable included many people in different fields of communication that all did our subject (or the subject that was equliviant to ours when they were studying). This was really really fantastic. It enabled me to see that my career didn’t just  have to end up being a librarian – I could literally do what ever I wanted to do within the field of communication. I guess the fact that these people all went to my university probably helped with them getting jobs in the industry (It is known as Uni that is highly recognised for it’s industry connections, and has a strong basis in practial work-ready skills). But they told us some amazingly valuable life lessons.

During the round table, these people mostly gave us advice about how to sell our transferable skills that we gained from university, how to make industry connections (and how they are important/useful), marketing skills (which is useful in all aspects of communications) and coding, which while it isn’t necessary, is definitely useful in my line of work. 

Probably the most important thing that I gained from this was the fact that I need to learn how to not sell my self short – i already have so many skills, and as I continue through uni I will gain more and more. I need to learn to be less modest, and able to show off my skills to the best of my abilities. Through doing this I can make myself stand out as the best candidate for the position – definitely something that is needed when applying for jobs anywhere.

It was really fantastic to meet these wonderful people in the same field as me, that give me hope that I will be able to find something that I am really happy doing as a career, and get as far as they have in their lives! 
Mahatma Gandhi: The future depends on what you do today.

Leave a Reply

